Skip to main content

VUSD Swears In 2 New Board Members and Elects New Officers

December 12, 2018 - At last night’s Vista Unified School District Board of Trustees meeting, Debbie Morton and Martha Alvarado were sworn in as Board of Trustee members.

Trustee Morton represents District 2, which includes eastern portions of Vista and a small portion of San Marcos. She was sworn in by San Diego County Board of Education member Rick Shea.

Trustee Alvarado represents District 3, which includes western portions of Vista and sections of Oceanside. She was sworn in by fellow Trustee member Cipriano Vargas. 

New Board of Trustee Officers were also elected at last night’s meeting. The 2019 Board Officers are as follows:

Rosemary Smithfield – President
Cipriano Vargas – Vice President
Debbie Morton – Clerk of the Board
Martha Alvarado – Member
Rich Alderson – Member